Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​CDSBC Board

The Board is the governing, policy-making body of CDSBC. The CDSBC Board is made up of dentists, certified dental assistants (CDAs), and public members. ​The registrant members are elected and Public Members are appointed by the provincial government.

The Board meets four times a year, and h​olds an Annual General Meeting in June. Board workshops on various timely issues may also be held two to three times a year. Board members also serve on other CDSBC Committees and Working Groups.

View the details for the next board meeting.

Board Highlights and Board Minutes from previous meetings can be found in the CDSBC Library under the "Board and Governance" heading.

Meet the Board ​

Board ​Chair

Mr. Carl Roy
Public Board Member
Carl is the President & CEO of the Provincial Health Services Authority. He brings more than four decades of experience in the health sector, and has worked with multiple regulatory bodies throughout his career. He has a strong governance background and demonstrated success in improving board performance.

Elected Board Members

Dr. Richard Busse
Dentist Board Member
Richard earned his dental degree from UBC in 1986 and has been in private practice for more than 30 years. He chairs the Facial Aesthetics Working Group and is a member of the Governance and Finance & Audit committees. He has been a part-time clinical instructor at UBC Dentistry, is a past president of the British Columbia Dental Association, and served on the board of Pacific Blue Cross Health Benefit Society.
Dr. Doug Conn
Dentist Board Member
Doug previously served CDSBC as the Vancouver district board member (1997-99) and on several committees, including a term as chair of the Practice Management Committee*. He graduated from UBC in 1982 and received his specialty degree in endodontics from Boston University in 1995. Doug practices as a certified specialist and is a part-time clinical assistant professor at UBC.
*indicates service on a committee under the Dentists Act
Ms. Cathy Larson
Certified Dental Assistant Board Member
Cathy has been a practising CDA for over 40 years and is an instructor at Vancouver Community College's certified dental assisting program. Cathy serves on the Quality Assurance and Discipline committees.
Dr. Maico (Mike) Melo
Dentist Board Member
Mike is an oral and maxillofacial surgeon in Victoria and Duncan. Mike received his dental degree from UBC in 2003, and completed his oral and maxillofacial surgical training at the Washington Hospital Center in 2007. He is the vice-chair of the Sedation and General Anaesthetic Services Committee.
Ms. Sabina Reitzik
Certified Dental Assistant Board Member
Sabina has been a practising CDA for over 15 years and is currently a clinical instructor at UBC’s Faculty of Dentistry.
Dr. Richard Wilczek
Dentist Board Member
Richard earned his dental degree from UBC in 1981 and has been a dentist for over 36 years. He has a private practice in Prince George, and provides residential dental care to patients in Jubilee Lodge and at the Prince George Emergency Dental Outreach Clinic located in the Native Friendship Centre.

Public Board Members

Dr. Heather Davidson, PhD
Public Board Member
Heather is an Assistant Deputy Minister for the BC Ministry of Health with responsibility for research, innovation, knowledge management, legislation and intergovernmental relations. She holds a PhD in the Psychology of Adult Development and Aging and has worked as a psychologist and researcher in geriatric medicine.
Ms. Dianne Doyle
Public Board Member
Dianne has a long history as an executive within the BC health system, most recently having spent 11 years as CEO of Providence Health Care in Vancouver. She is a former nurse and has served on a number of provincial and national boards related to health, research and professional development.
Ms. Barb Hambly
Public Board Member
Barb is a senior leader in the corporate health services field. She has held executive positions in finance, human resources and public affairs.
Ms. Shirley Ross
Public Board Member
Shirley brings experience in communications, education and advocacy. She has acted as global health project director for Oxfam Canada, community developer and community health nurse for the Vancouver Health Board, and general duty nurse in various acute care hospitals across B.C., Alberta and Manitoba.
Dr. Lynn Stevenson, PhD
Public Board Member
Lynn is a former Associate Deputy Minister of Health Services at the Ministry of Health and serves on a number of boards in the health and academic sector. She is a registered nurse and has a PhD with a research focus on organizational change, practice and leadership.

Board Highlights and Board Minutes from previous meetings can be found in the CDSBC Library under the "Board and Governance" heading.