Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content


                                                                                                                                                                                18 December 2018 


Annual Renewal Opens 11 January 2019
Minister of Health Appoints Public Board Members
2019 Award Winners

Submit CE Credits If your Cycle Ends 31 December

Pediatric Sedation Moratorium for Short Course Format
Thank you from the Quality Assurance Working Group
February Board Meeting 
Holiday Closure   

Annual Renewal Opens January 11 2019

The Board has approved Schedule F, which includes the 2019/20 annual renewal fees and it has been sent to the Ministry of Health for filing. The College's 2019/20 budget includes a fee increase for all categories of registration/certification. Details and the rationale for the increase are contained in the fee memo linked below, and a full break down of the fees for each category can be found in the fee schedule below (renewal fees appear as "annual registration/certification fee"):

2019/20 Fee Memo (PDF)  
2019/20 Schedule F Fees (PDF)  

Registrants will receive a renewal notice in the mail in the second week of January.

There are three key changes to the 2019/20 online renewal forms. This year, the renewal forms will include questions related to First Nations and Aboriginal data and completion of the San'yas Indigenous Cultural Competency Training Program. Dentists will also be asked about provision of sedation and/or general anaesthesia services, and whether members of their staff hold the dental radiography designation.

More details about these key changes can be found at

The deadline to complete your annual renewal and submit your fees is 1 March 201​9

Back to top

Minister of Health Appoints Public Board Members  

The Minister of Health has appointed one additional public member and re-appointed eight public members to the CDSBC Board, bringing the Board to 23 members. 

Joining the Board for a one-year term is Ms. Shirley Ross. Currently serving as a member of the Canada-India Maternal Infant Health Project, Ms. Ross is also involved in the Women’s Advisory Committee for the City of Vancouver. Additionally, she serves on the board of the College of Physicians and Surgeons of BC.

Reappointed for a two year term are Dr. Heather Davidson, PhD, Ms. Dianne Doyle, Ms. Sabine Feulgen, Ms. Barb Hambly, Mr. Oleh IInyckyj, Mr. Carl Roy, Mr. Neal Steinman and Dr. Lynn Stevenson, PhD. 

Back to top 

2019 Award Winners

We are pleased to announce that the following individuals will be honoured at the CDSBC Volunteer Recognition Evening on 7 March 2019 at the Fairmont Waterfront Hotel, Vancouver. 

All registrants are welcome to attend the cocktail reception and ceremony to celebrate the many volunteers who contribute to dental regulation and the College’s mandate to serve and protect the public. An invitation will be included in your renewal package. 

Honoured Member
Dr. Ash Varma 

Distinguished Service 
Ms. Beverly Davis, CDA

Award of Merit 
Mr. Martin Gifford
Dr. James Kim, Anaesthesiologist 
Dr. Hugh Lamont
Dr. Maico Melo ​

Back to top


Submit CE Credits If Your Cycle Ends 31 December

If your three-year CE cycle ends 31 December 2018 and you have yet to submit your CE credits, the most efficient way to do so is by logging into your online account. If you have credits that are pending, and you have submitted the documentation necessary for sessions that are self-study or 12 credits or more please contact CDSBC for assistance.

Eligible credits you have earned prior to 31 December 2018 will be included in the current cycle, even if they are not processed by the end of the year. 

More information is available on our website or you can email

Back to top 

Pediatric Sedation Moratorium Extended 

At the 30 November 2018 Board Meeting, the College Board approved an extension of the Pediatric Sedation Moratorium on new applications to register credentials to provide moderate pediatric sedation (patients 12 years and under) for dentists who have learned the modality in a short-course format. The extension allows the Sedation Committee to further review the safety of short-course format training for this modality.

Back to top 

Thank You From the Quality Assurance Working Group 

CDSBC and the Quality Assurance (QA) Committee working group would like to thank everyone who took the time to submit their feedback regarding the proposed changes to the Quality Assurance Program.  All responses/comments received have been reviewed and discussed by the QA working group and will be considered when formulating the final draft.

This has been a significant project for the QA Committee and CDSBC. The working group appreciates registrant effort and participation in this very important project.

Back to top

February Board Meeting

The Board will be meeting on Friday, 22 February 2019, 8:30 am at the Terminal City Club, Skidmore Room, Level 2, 837 West Hastings Street, Vancouver, B.C.

To reserve a meeting package and ensure adequate seating, observers should RSVP to Nancy Crosby, Manager of the CEO's Office, at by 14 February.

Back to top 

Holiday Closure


The office will be closed from 12:00pm on Friday, 21 December for the holiday season. We will reopen at 8:00 am on Thursday, 3 January 2019.​


Back to top

This Contact News Bulletin is distributed to registrants for the College of Dental Surgeons of BC. It is one of CDSBC's official methods of notification  to its registrants. Registrants are responsible for reading College publications to ensure that they are aware of current standards, policies and guidelines.