Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Considering Running for the CDSBC Board?

Before you decide, consider this:

CDSBC's role is to protect the public. Nothing more and nothing less. 

As a health regulator, our only job is to protect the public. This is set out in legislation and it is what makes us different from any other type of organization, such as a professional association or advocacy group.

The job of a board member is to uphold CDSBC's mandate to protect the public – not to "represent" any particular group

CDSBC is governed by an 18-member Board that includes dentists, certified dental assistants and members of the public. To ensure a broad range of perspectives among the professional (elected) members of the Board, some positions are reserved for registrants who meet certain characteristics:

  • dentists who practise in each of the five electoral districts
  • a dentist who is a certified specialist
  • a dentist who is a member of the UBC Faculty of Dentistry
  • a certified dental assistant

While the CDSBC Bylaws require these positions to be elected by other registrants in each of those same groups, each board member has a duty to act in the best interests of the public and not as a delegate or representative of a constituency or interest group. All 18 CDSBC board members are there to protect the public.

Consider whether you have the personal attributes and relevant skills and experience needed on the CDSBC Board

CDSBC has identified key characteristics that are ideal for any board member. These include personal characteristics, specific skills and experience, and leadership qualities. You can find a complete list in the CDSBC Governance Manual under Board Composition and Succession Planning. 

Time requirement

Board members must devote the necessary time and attention to be able to make informed decisions on issues that come before the Board. Board members may spend approximately 12-15 hours a month in preparation for, and attendance at, board meetings, for board member development, workshops, stakeholder events, and committee meetings. (The time commitment is significantly more for the board officer positions.)

  • Meetings and events are scheduled during regular business hours, weekday evenings and Saturdays.
  • New board members are expected to attend a board member orientation at College Place in Vancouver.
  • At least three times per year, board events run over two days (workshop and meeting), which requires staying overnight in Vancouver. 

Before deciding to run as a candidate, please carefully consider the responsibilities, skills and time commitment required.

Financial compensation

Board members are eligible to claim an honorarium as set out in CDSBC's Expense Policy for Volunteers (PDF). Costs associated with travel and meals are also paid in accordance with that policy.

If this sounds like you or someone you know, see the eligibility requirements >>

2018 Election

The annual election of Officers and Board Members is held in accordance with provisions in the Health Professions Act (HPA), CDSBC Bylaws and Schedule E (Electoral Districts). The next Board election will be held on 17 May 2018.

Elections will be held for the following positions:

Officers (One-Year Term)

  • President
  • Vice-President
  • Treasurer

Position descriptions: President, Vice-President, Treasurer (PDF) 

Board Members (Two-Year Term)

  • Dentist, District 1 (Fraser Valley)
  • Dentist, District 4 (Vancouver)
  • Certified Specialist 
  • UBC Faculty of Dentistry

Position descriptions: Individual Board Member (PDF) 

Key Election Dates and Deadlines

​Close of Nominations ​15 March 2018 at 4:30 pm
Submission of Candidate statements* ​3 April 2018 at 4:30 pm
Mailing of ​Election Materials ​12 April 2018
Ballot Boxes Close ​17 May 2018 at 4:30 pm
Election Count ​17 May 2018 at 5:00 pm
​Annual General Meeting ​15 June 2018

*Candidates will be asked to submit a statement for distribution to eligible voters


Nominations are accepted until 4:30 pm on 15 March 2018.

CDSBC must receive a completed nomination package for each candidate nominated.

Read the 2018 Notice of Election (PDF) for more information. Eligibility requirements for candidates, nominators and voters are set out in Part 2 (College Board) of the bylaws and are summarized here (PDF).

Submission of Candidate Statement  

After CDSBC confirms that a candidate is eligible to run in the election, each candidate is asked to submit a candidate statement for distribution to eligible voters.


Election packages will be mailed to dentists and CDAs no later than 12 April 2018. Ballots must be received by the Registrar no later than 4:30 pm on Thursday, 17 May 2018 to be counted in the election.

The election count is scheduled for 17 May 2018 at 5:00 pm.